Baptists at our Barbecue

October 19, 2004

I received this email a few days ago from Christian Vuissa, and old mission buddy turned filmmaker. Since it is a general kind of email, I wanted to post it here to stump for his movie. Perhaps the Baron has already seen it and could tell us his take on it:

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to let you know that my film “Baptists at Our Barbecue” is opening today in Utah! The film won the Best Picture Award at the Hope and Dreams Film Festival in New Jersey. It also won Best Comedy and Best of Festival at the Fiery Film Festival in New Mexico. This is a quirky, romantic comedy about charmingly flawed small town Mormons.

If you have a chance to see it this weekend in Utah, I’d love to hear your response. Some of the characters will probably remind you of people in our mission. I promise it’ll make you smile.

Anyways, I hope to hear from you!

(Elder) Christian Vuissa
Germany Leipzig Mission (1994-96)

P.S. If you’re not in Utah, look out for the film in the upcoming months. Also, there will a festival screening at the ArcLight Cinemas in Hollywood this Saturday at 9.30 pm. The film will also play at festivals in Florida, Michigan and New Hampshire.

To see the trailer, theater listings and other info, go to the official
website

I am looking forward to seeing it! :)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.