Indecision

November 2, 2004

Just a few hours away from casting my vote, and I’m still undecided.

Can I really sacrifice the babies just to make France happy? (I.e. put aside my very strong moral disgust at our infant holocaust in this country in the interest of a more measured and multilateral foreign policy?)

Conversely, can I really justify continuing an alienating foreign policy just to save what the abortionists consider mere “reproductive matter” with no more ontological significance than feces? (I.e. put aside my discomfort with unilateral use of power and an alienating foreign policy in the interest of saving something that many, including those who kill it, don’t even consider human?)

My dilemma. (Allison is still struggling with this decision too.)

On a side note, Marianne, our three year-old daughter, has announced that we should vote for . . . . Christmas! When pressed, though, as between George Bush and John Kerry, she chose John Kerry (however, this might have to do with the fact that we said Kerry’s name after Bush and with the fact that her dad’s name is John). . . .

Anyway, I consider myself an informed voter (I should be after the many hours spent reading the media in several different languages and on the blogs), but it isn’t helping me make what is becoming an existential moral decision between two ideas of America (both of which have some attraction, but neither of which comes close to my ideal–a millenial government in which Christ himself reigns as King and the Saints live in Zion).


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.