From Abroad

There’s not exclusively negative press coming out of Europe after Bush’s reelection. But much of it is predictably negative, even arrogantly condescending (how could so many Americans be so stupid, and all that).

On this discussion board (sorry it’s in German), some of the comments are balanced and a few are optimistic that they can resolve themsevles to get along with Bush’s America, but many of these comments pass judgment on Bush and on America’s intelligence. The article that these comments stemmed from discusses the widespread view that America is one step away from totalitarianism. It’s interesting that Germans really look at the prevailing moral values in America as fascist. That is something that I really can’t understand.

Anyway, one of the commenters said that he hoped that Bush will get impeached soon into this term for one of the allegedly many impeachable infractions that from that German’s perspective Bush has commited in his first term. The frustrating thing about the fact that it is the vogue in Europe to depricate Bush and America for voting for him is that if I as an American were to post something like that about the German government, then I would be accused of imperialism. It is just so tiring sometimes.

2 Responses to From Abroad

  1. Anonymous says:

    John,

    Warum hast Du nichts dazu gesagt? (Ich stimme zu- ermuedernd ist das…) 

    Posted by Jordan

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’ve been reading the Swedish newspaper as well, (www.dn.se) which has been less than excited as well. I feel like I’ve been surrounded this whole election with people who don’t share my view. I posted an “exit poll” on my class’ website and was really glad when one other person voted for Bush.

    I see the double standard I in America as well. Here’s a good one by one of the left’s own:
    http://slate.msn.com/id/2109218/

    Slate is publishing a post-election pity party called “Why Americans Hate Democrats”. This fine contribution is sub-titled “The unteachable ignorance of the red states.” I’m not kidding. The unteachable ignorance of the red states. Now if I were to have called my class mates (or my professors) unteachable ignoramuses the results would not have been pretty. I would write my own tirade about intellectual elitism, but I found this comment and she sums it up pretty well.

    “Please, please keep calling all those people in the red states ignorant…
    I am as much an intellectual as any on the left. I have read my Aeschylus and Dostoyevsky and Steinbeck. However, I also have read my Kant, Aristotle, and Aquinas. I come to the table with a real background, not a pseudo-intellectual one. I say this because I am one of the “ignorance-induced” people that Smiley dismisses. I hope that the Democratic party listens to her until the Republicans get at least a 60-seat majority in the Senate.” – http://slate.msn.com/id/2108986/

    Anyway, I felt the double standard in school plenty and I’m not sure what to do about it. Maybe we should publish a pity party of our own. :) 

    Posted by Greg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

