Richardson, TX: Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy?

I grew up in Dallas, TX, specifically, in the suburb of Richardson, which is actually its own city. Jordan has just moved back to Richardson after a twelve year absence. (When he left, he was but the learner; now he – is – the – master.) He is now a lawyer working for Fish and Richardson (where an education at a top-ten law school won’t land you, eh?). That Jordan is back in our hometown worries me in light of this case that I stumbled across while researching a totally unrelated issue. Reading between the lines of Holy Land Foundation for Relief & Development v. Ashcroft, 219 F. Supp. 2d 57, 64 (D.D.C. 2002), one perceives that Richardson is now a financing center for terrorists (hence the soundbite in the title of this post):

II. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

[Holy Land Foundation ("HLF")] is a non-profit corporation organized in 1989, with its headquarters in Richardson, Texas. It was originally incorporated under the name Occupied Land Fund (“OLF”), and changed its corporate name to Holy Land Foundation for Relief and Development on September 16, 1991. Shukri Abu Baker is HLF’s co-founder and has been Chief Executive Officer from its founding to the present. n1

- – - – - – - – - – - – - – Footnotes – - – - – - – - – - – - – - -

n1 As addressed below, the administrative record contains evidence that Baker is involved with Hamas and raises funds on its behalf. HLF vigorously contests the accuracy of this evidence.

As is usually the case, the pertinent and important information at issue here is found in the footnote.

Are you rethinking your decision now, Jordan? I’m starting to think SLC wasn’t such a bad choice after all. . . .

6 Responses to Richardson, TX: Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Oh Crap! If only I had found out this information sooner- John, why didn’t you look this up three months ago?!?

    Now I have to go back to the studying Texas Criminal Procedure… Fun stuff. Texas bar in t-minus 6 weeks and counting.
     

    Posted by Jordan

  2. Anonymous says:

    We won’t expect to hear much from you for seven weeks, Jordan. After that, you can work on “small-town blogging.” You can be the Garrison Keillor of the B’nacle. 

    Posted by Dave

  3. Anonymous says:

    FYI, I’m an attorney in Plano, which is near enough to Richardson. Plano First Ward actually takes in part of Richardson and I’ve just been assigned two people to home teach there.

    You will have to drop me a line, maybe we can have a B’nacle Dallas get together. Will you be at the JRCLS meeting this Thursday? The in-house lawyer for Hotels.com will be speaking at the Belo (she is in First Ward too).

    We could have a B’nacle table. ;)
     

    Posted by Stephen M (Ethesis)

  4. Anonymous says:

    What ward in Richardson? I was in Richardson yesterday visiting a part-member home teachee family that just moved from our ward (Lakewood-Dallas East Stake) into Garland 3rd Ward.

     

    Posted by Nathan Mark Smith

  5. Anonymous says:

    Heh- Garland 3rd. Brings back fond memories. I lived in the Richardson 2nd Ward growing up.

    My family and I live in Richardson, but it is the far northeast corner of Richardson (adjacent to the EAST side of Breckinridge Park, in Collin County). We are in the Plano 5th ward of the Plano Texas Stake.

    And yes, Stephen, I will be at the Belo on Thursday. See you there?  

    Posted by Jordan

  6. Anonymous says:

    I was there, hmm, I need to look better, as I didn’t know where to look to find you. I look just like at http://adrr.com/ except I’m blonder now (that picture is getting old, I need to update it as my hair loses all of its color).

    I’m generally at the JRCLS activities (though I missed the party) and plan to be at the Jan Shipps fireside in February — we ought to have a local bloggernacle meeting there. 

    Posted by Stephen M (Ethesis)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

