“A New Power is Arising . . .

. . . its victory is at hand.”

Congratulations to those who have established the new blog The Millennial Star! It looks like a fantastic platform and promises to be interesting and informative with their star-studded cast. I was particularly pleased to see Ben Spackman and Jon Wilson on their list of contributors.

Interesting that Ryan and Davis Bell are there too.

(P.S.: name the quote)

17 Responses to “A New Power is Arising . . .

  1. Anonymous says:

    I first saw this news late last night and was pretty excited. I went over to check it this morning after seeing your post — they already have three posts up with a bunch of comments! This looks like it’s going to be a great success.

    -pate 

    Posted by pate

  2. Anonymous says:

    I agree that this will undoubtedly be a great success. One problem with it, though, is that they haven’t linked to othr blogs in the Bloggernacle, so it’s like a trap when you go there–you can’t get out unless you type the address of a different blog in the address bar. 

    Posted by john fowles

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks John and Pate. We’re excited too. Though of the Istari I would much rather be compared to Mithrandir then to Curunir. :-)

    (How’s that for an obscure Tolkien reference!) 

    Posted by Jon Wilson (Ebenezer O)

  4. Anonymous says:

    Good point. I knew the risk of that quote when I put it in, but it seemed fitting at the time. 

    Posted by john fowles

  5. Anonymous says:

    I know that this will be a faux pas, but I am curious: how’d you land an invite, Jon? 

    Posted by john fowles

  6. Anonymous says:

    I don’t know exactly. I just found myself invited all of a sudden. I suspect it had to do with my programming skills though. 

    Posted by Jon Wilson

  7. Anonymous says:

    A Bird’s Eye View is now on the blogroll at M*. 

    Posted by Bryce I

  8. Anonymous says:

    Thanks Bryce! M* is lined here too. 

    Posted by john fowles

  9. Anonymous says:

    John asked: “how’d you land an invite, Jon?”

    I hear it’s like getting an address on gmail. A week or so after you’re in, you get to invite 12 more people, until it rolls forth and sweeps the whole earth.

     

    Posted by Nathan Mark Smith

  10. Anonymous says:

    Wow. Pretty efficient system. Funny, I’ve never gotten a gmail invite before. . . . 

    Posted by john fowles

  11. Anonymous says:

    John, if you do want a gmail account (they’re great) then I think I have one I could send you. 

    Posted by danithew

  12. Anonymous says:

    I wasn’t fishing for an invitation, but if you have one that is not otherwise spoken for, then why not? That would be great. But again, only if it is truly extra, just lying around collecting e-dust. 

    Posted by john fowles

  13. Anonymous says:

    john/all:

    i have 6 gmail invites available.

    jordan: Mannie (from your law school class) is now working at the firm I’m with. http://www.sbclasslaw.com 

    Posted by lyle

  14. Anonymous says:

    Mannie Shachmurove- well what do you know… Small world. Tell him hello for me.

     

    Posted by jordan

  15. Anonymous says:

    Lyle, your firm looks great, and exciting. I still think it’s too bad that B&M didn’t work out.

    Are you feeling a little peeved about the State of the Union address, given your employment at a class action firm?

    How is everything else going? 

    Posted by john fowles

  16. Anonymous says:

    Yes, i’ll say hello & mention your blog.

    john…yeah…oh well. No, I’m actually thrilled re: the imminent passage of the class action reform act.

    Why?
    1. The last time Congress stuck its nose into the litigaiton free market, and passed the PSLRA, it only made existing class action firms more powerful…not less. # of suits & $ amounts of settlements only increase. :)
    2. since I happen to be associated with existing firms…it works for me personally.
    3. the new class action reform act will have the exact same effect. Shut out small firms in favor of the established ones. Given that we just moved to a new building & are hiring more attorneys…i’m sure this act will only help us. :)  

    Posted by lyle

  17. Anonymous says:

    Do say hello. No need to mention the blog, though. 

    Posted by Jordan–>

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

