Farewell Professor Nibley

Professor Hugh Nibley has just passed away. We greatly mourn his passing. He has been an inspiration to us all. Allison and I are glad that Allison’s father had a chance to say goodbye to him yesterday. This will make our reading of his 1954 lecture notes on Apostles and Bishops in Early Christianity a very different experience than we had anticipated.

8 Responses to Farewell Professor Nibley

  1. Geoff J says:

    Thanks for the note John. I love to read his stuff — especially the preaching. What a treasure he was for our people.

    BTW — This timing will surely make Martha look even scummier than she already does with the new book.

  2. Zach says:

    It’s a sad time for him to go. Particularly when this kind of accusation is being levelled against him, and against the Church.
    Ah well, how does the quote go? “…Calumny may defame, but the Truth of God will go forward, boldly, nobly, and independent…”

  3. Dave says:

    Well, as fate would have it, the timing of his passing will probably go a long way toward deflecting interest in the MNB book.

  4. Stephen says:

    am currently an attorney in Dallas, Texas. My wife and three children and I live in Richardson (but in the Plano Stake).BTW, which ward? I’m in Plano 1st.

    Any chance we can get you out to the JRCLS?

  5. Jordan says:

    Stephen,

    I have already been out to two events for the JRCLS this year- the joint event with the Marriott Society, and the dinner at Bishop Benac’s home. It’s a great group! I will have to try to meet you sometime there.

  6. Jordan says:

    I am in the Plano 5th ward. I was just out to Stake Conference last week. If this is Stephen Marsh, I think I saw you there- from a distance.

  7. Stephen says:

    Yes, I was there, in the back, at the 12:00 session. Spent a lot of time picking up chairs.

    I’m Stephen Marsh alright. Two blond daughters, a dear wife Win (she is taller than I am) and a guy whose hair has begun to turn white. Needs to lose some weight too.

  8. Jordan says:

    Then it WAS you I saw. I saw a man who looked like the picture at your website (which I checked just prior to Stake Conference so I could recognize you if I saw you), but with whiter hair. That made me hesitant to approach you, since I was not sure it was really you, although in total substance it looked like you. Maybe next time…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

