The “Others”

No, the title is not a reference to the mysterious others that we are going to encounter next week on Lost. Rather, I stumbled across another Bird’s Eye View blog (the first one listed below) and wondered how many others have named their blogs Bird’s Eye View and whether I have preexisting use on the name (I started a bird’s eye view in July 2004). My search turned up at least four Bird’s Eye View blogs, and there may well be more:

1. Bird’s Eye View: “Getting the big picture. . . .” [This appears to be an Evangelical Christian group blog of sorts.] It started up in December 2004.

2. A Bird’s Eye View: “The Birdwoman is (among other things) a liberal, pro-choice feminist atheist.” [run by a woman in Scotland, appears very political] This blog began in November 2004.

3. Bird’s Eye View”: “A high level of view of the world around me” [appears to be run by a Canadian; current post is "open source taxonomies"] This blog has been running since September 2004.

4. Bird’s Eye View: “Building a living community of transformation.” [This looks like an interesting blog arrangement. The meta-blog-thingy is called Enlightenment.com but it consists of a group of independent blogs collectively called "SpiritBlogs" (click on "Blogs" and scroll down for Bird's Eye View) whose individual posts come up on the Enlightenment.com page. Bird's Eye View has 42 entries. Bird's Eye View describes itself there as follows: "I am a visionary artist researching artwork on world myths, religions and spirituality. My goal is to produce a syncratism that inspires awareness and enlightens people as to the wonders of the world around us."] There is no indication of how long this Bird’s Eye View has been part of SpiritBlogs.

This remains the sole LDS Bird’s Eye View blog. But could the existence of the others create difficulties for us here, I wonder? I’ll have to look into it in a little more detail. . . .

10 Responses to The “Others”

  1. Anonymous says:

    Come on John – I’d LOVE to talk about ‘Lost’! 

    Posted by Rebecca

  2. Anonymous says:

    Me too, actually. Allison and I love that show. John Locke rocks. Jack can be annoying/frustrating though. 

    Posted by john fowles

  3. Anonymous says:

    As we all know, Lost has many allusions to Mormonism, just like Star Wars does. 

    Posted by will

  4. Anonymous says:

    Ronan would agree with you on Locke. I prefer the bad boy Sawyer though! we can’t wait to see though what’s really up with Locke – good or bad??? 

    Posted by Rebecca

  5. Anonymous says:

    I clicked on this post hoping it was about Lost, too. Jack and Kate can get very tiring. They just aren’t as interesting as all the other characters. 

    Posted by NFlanders

  6. Anonymous says:

    I love that show! Cool. 

    Posted by Andy

  7. Anonymous says:

    I think that John Locke is a fundamentally good person and that he is a “good guy.” If he turns out otherwise, it will be because someone or something else is manipulating him, as did his biological father when he got Locke to give him a kidney (or liver?). His history has been so sad to watch, particularly given his uniquely childlike nature (remember, his mother found him as a worker at a toy store when she initiated the con against him for his organ). He genuinely wants to do the right thing and has a childlike faith that keeps him going. He is also much smarter and shrewder than you would expect from someone with such otherwise childlike qualities. 

    Posted by john fowles

  8. Anonymous says:

    Ok John – you have my vote to run a Lost blog!!! 

    Posted by Rebecca

  9. panchee says:

    Amazing!!
    Even i thought the same when i tried using google blogsearch and seached for my blog. And I ran into this page which tells me there are more birdseyeview happening.
    In my case my nickname is bird so birdsIview seems logical.
    So can we declare ourself wise people since we think alike??
    :) 

    I think it will be fun to discover other birds. For the time being Im these blogs to my blog.

    Shall we say, birds of the same feathers unite LOL
    Blogspot 
    yahoo360
     

    Posted by vickeybird

  10. john fowles says:

    Panchee/vickybird,

    I checked out your blog, so it looks like you are definitely part of the birds eye view club! You have a cool blog over there. I thought your pictures of your workplace and apartment were pretty cool. I’ve never been to India, but it looks nice from those pictures.

    Thanks for dropping by. 

    Posted by john fowles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

