SLC Bloggernacle Gathering

In honor of Ronan’s trip out to Utah to deliver a lecture at BYU on Friday, November 4, 2005 at 8 am in room 382 of the JSB, I invite all those who are so inclined to attend a bloggernacle gathering in SLC at my home that evening at 7 pm (or whenever). Come by and meet Ronan, even if you are able to attend his lecture at BYU, and hopefully other bloggernacle participants.

We had a bloggernacle gathering at my house last year at this time, and all who came had a good time (ditto for the gathering hosted by Ryan Bell in SLC earlier this year). We hope to repeat that positive experience and to see those who came last time as well as others whom we have not yet met. (Someone tell Bob Caswell–I doubt he reads ABEV.) If you are interested, email me for my address at jfowles at gmail dot com.

UPDATE: In addition to Ronan and John, Jordan will also be at this gathering. I (Jordan) hope to finally meet some of you! Please join us! We’re REAL!

13 Responses to SLC Bloggernacle Gathering

  1. john fowles says:

    So far we have:

    Ronan
    Jordan
    John C and spouse
    Ryan Bell & fam. (possibly but a little later)
    john fowles

    I hope more will find the time! 

    Posted by john fowles

  2. Mark IV says:

    I can hereby testify that Jordan Fowles is real. And I have no reason to believe that the man I spoke with on the phone, and who purported to be John Fowles, was being untruthful.

    Wish I could be there, guys. Enjoy yourselves! 

    Posted by Mark IV

  3. Mark:

    It was nice working with you in New Orleans. 

    Posted by Jordan

  4. john fowles says:

    I have heard from John Dehlin that he will try to attend as well. 

    Posted by john fowles

  5. Anonymous says:

    Ok, it looks like we’re on board (meaning, me, Bob and my wife Evelina). Jordan, I’m excited to meet you as a real person! And Ronan still speaks with an American accent in my mind, so it’ll be nice to fix that. 

    Posted by Bob Caswell

  6. john fowles says:

    Bob’s coming! cool. 

    Posted by john fowles

  7. danithew says:

    Sigh. Wish I could go. 

    Posted by danithew

  8. John says:

    Please forgive my effusiveness….but what an amazing group this was to commune with. I was so thoroughly impressed (as always).

    And guys/wives….please don’t read too much into what I said about apologetics. 2 things I didn’t emphasize strongly enough…

    1) I know that among the apologists are some of the sharpest minds and spirits we have in Mormon Studies

    2) I strongly believe that apologetics has a place in Mormondom to answer the critics

    I guess I was just saying that often times, apologetics doesn’t work for me, and my faith/testimony….and can even be harmful….largely because I view testimonies as a “faith thing”, not a “knowledge thing”, and because I hate to see us fighting with the enemy’s tactics.

    In the end, for me….because it’s unprovable, it’s religion.

    Anyway, you guys/gals rock, and I’m honored to be allowed to persist with you, even at the margins.

    Truly a pleasure.

    John

    Posted by John Dehlin

  9. john fowles says:

    I am grateful to all who attended. We had a fun evening!

    John, no worries. We all enjoyed the conversation immensely. I think we were all on the same page as far as where apologetics can go the wrong direction.

    Thanks for making the effort to come. John D. was down all the way from Logan; Bob Caswell and Evelina, J. Max Wilson and his daughters, and John C. and Tana came all the way from Provo/Orem; not to mention Ronan who came all the way from Baltimore and Jordan who came from Dallas. Ryan Bell made the arduous nine block journey as well. We had a pretty good geographical representation from the bloggernacle there. But we missed all who didn’t come. 

    Posted by john fowles

  10. Anonymous says:

    Wow, sparks must have flown once I left. John (uh, any of the four there), you’ll have to fill me in. This didn’t go on until morning, did it? Actually, both my wife and I were impressed with everyone we met. And John Fowles’ hospitality is unmatched. Thanks for a wonderful evening! 

    Posted by Bob Caswell

  11. john fowles says:

    Ha ha–no sparks! We had an awesome discussion of Mormon Studies and apologetics. The discussion mostly focused on the ad hominem nature of the FARMS review of books. The spirit of Dave was in the room. There was general agreement that an ad hominem part of an argument, in apologetics, shouldn’t be a mere personal attack. Views differed, however, on whether ad hominem elements were appropriate at all in apologetics. We speculated about what Aristotle might think about that, but Ronan doubted we could ever really know that. It was a good discussion and I learned a lot. But you would have really enjoyed it!

    As for sparks flying, it was no different at all than the discussion we had at the first SLC bloggernacle gathering about speaking in tongues, so there really is no drama at all to report. 

    Posted by john fowles

  12. Ronan says:

    Thanks John. It was great. I’ve put some of my comments over at United Brethren. 

    Posted by Ronan

  13. john fowles says:

    Cool comments over there. I have responded to you there but was unsure whether my comment went through or not. 

    Posted by john fowles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

