Funny Reminder

Somehow I came across an old post (ancient in Bloggernacle terms) by Kristine at BCC today and was reminded that I was supposed to quit the Bloggernacle on January 21, 2005 at 5:56 p.m.  I remember distinctly thinking that comment 54 [click twice in I.E.] on that thread, responding to an unpleasant comment 52, would (or should) be my last word on the LDS blogs.  Apparenlty, three and a half hours later (by comment 59), I had forgotten this new resolve of mine. 

I am glad I didn’t quit the bloggernacle after that offensive comment.  Regardless of any value I might have added to the bloggernacle since January 21, 2005 (this is a highly doubtful proposition of which I have no illusions) I have enjoyed my participation on the LDS blogs and learned a great deal about a lot of good people and their thoughts and beliefs from continued interaction since then.

Conversely, if I have made comments similar to Tom Manney’s that were offensive to others, I apologize and hope that it did not cause anyone to act rashly.

9 Responses to Funny Reminder

  1. Dave says:

    I was hoping that comment 56 helped you decide on an early comeback.

  2. J. Stapley says:

    I’m really pleased you stuck around. Especially having met you and your family, you are one of my all time favorite naclers! Cheers.

  3. john f. says:

    Yeah, good point Dave — you’re probably right! Thanks!

    J. thanks. It’s been a blast.

  4. Mark IV says:

    John, I, also, am glad you stuck around. I appreciate the contributions you make to the LDS online community.

  5. danithew says:

    If any person who has blogged for a substantial period of time arrives at a point where he/she swears off blogging forever, don’t believe him/her. It’s a bug that gets under your skin and not too many people can abandon it thereafter. This is not a criticism of you, by the way. I think swearing off blogging is a stage every blogger goes through.

  6. If any person who has blogged for a substantial period of time arrives at a point where he/she swears off blogging forever, don’t believe him/her. It’s a bug that gets under your skin and not too many people can abandon it thereafter. This is not a criticism of you, by the way. I think swearing off blogging is a stage every blogger goes through.

    Yeah, some people fade away, but those who swear off generally return.

  7. Kristine says:

    Hi John! I’m glad you stuck around, too, although we haven’t had a good fight for a while. What’s happened to us?? How does that Barbra Streisand song go? “You don’t preach false doctrine…You don’t call me heathen anymore”…

  8. Sarah says:

    I promise myself at least once a month that I’m finished blogging forever. But I have to agree that once you pop you can’t stop. My blog has sort of become my soul and to just give it up, no matter how obnoxious the whole thing can be sometimes, is impossible.

  9. Jordan F. says:

    Sarah:

    I had no idea you were a blogger! Hope all is well down there in Cali!

    Best to Adam!

    Jordan

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

