FLSR Reunion

One of BYU’s best-kept secrets, the Foreign Language Student Residence (FLSR), is having an alumni reunion on Friday, October 20, 2006 at 6:30 p.m.  Ben Spackman’s sister Erin Spackman Rushforth and her husband Michael are the chapter chairs and have organized this reunion, which we are all eagerly anticipating. 

It is difficult to describe just how much the FLSR enriched the BYU experience for most who lived there.  In my own family, I lived in the German and Spanish houses (1995 – 1998), my sister lived in the Spanish house (1998), and my brother lived in the Japanese house (2000).  My wife lived in the French house (1996 – 1998), and her brother lived in the German house (1994 – 1995).  My wife also has several cousins who lived in various houses, including French, Italian, German, and Arabic.  We know literally dozens of people, including many in our own families, who met their spouses while living there.  We have many continuing friendships from that experience, including the Bloggernacle’s own J. Max Wilson and Ben Spackman, among many others.  It is a truly unique experience and one that I highly recommend to any lucky enough to have BYU on their horizons, or are currently attending. 

We hope any alumni out there will decide to show up at the reunion on Friday!

3 Responses to FLSR Reunion

  1. Jordan F. says:

    One of my big regrets is not having been able to have lived there… I was already married before I got to BYU (happy for me, but sad that I did not get to live in FLSR, which I think I would have LOVED!!)

    Have fun at the reunion!

  2. Amira says:

    I think my husband and I will be at the reunion. We’ll see who else is there from the early days of Arabic before it got so popular to learn it.

  3. Pyotr Viliky says:

    I never lived there but did visit on occasion. I felt the kitchens were too large and spacious for the Lord’s university.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

