Background

Who are we? I mean, really, who are we? Those of you who think you have us pegged will have to think again. You will come away from this viewing us in a whole new light. So, without further delay, I present to you- THE GEBRUEDER ABEV!

Here are the things, listed below, which you may have suspected about us, but never knew:

1. We are infantile.

2. We are couch potatoes.

3. We like to wear matching clothes, made from curtains.

4. We are, at times, cross dressers.

5. We are SUPER-GROOVY!

6. We are major athletes.

7. We have criminal records.

8. We are world travelers.

9. We are big brothers.

10. We are religious fanatics.

I hope you have enjoyed this foray into the ABEV inner workings.

11 Responses to Background

  1. J. Stapley says:

    Plaid. Jump. Suits.

    …and #10: aren’t we all? 

    Posted by J. Stapley

  2. How many of the rest of you can remember when John looked more or less like #8? Does that make me special? 

    Posted by RoastedTomatoes

  3. john fowles says:

    Very, very special. 

    Posted by john fowles

  4. John Dehlin says:

    Now I feel like I knew you both as children. :) 

    Posted by John Dehlin

  5. Nice photos, haven’t I seen them somewhere else? On the back of milk cartons in the 80s? No, just at home :)!

     

    Posted by Aaron Fowles

  6. Mark IV says:

    John and Jordan,

    Is it true that you guys attended a yiddish summer camp? If so, that would definitely be blogworthy.

    I think your mother bought your clothes at the same store why my mother shopped. My own (teenage) kids get sideaches from laughing while going through old photo albums of Mom and Dad as teenagers. 

    Posted by Mark IV

  7. john fowles says:

    Mark,

    It was an intensive Yiddish language summer program  sponsored by the Vilnius Yiddish Institute of the University of Vilnius with the support of the Oxford summer program in Yiddish. In other words, it was a university level study abroad rather than a summer camp for kids.

    Jordan and I did the program together, both enrolling in the Yiddish II program:

    Yiddish II (INTERMEDIATE YIDDISH)
    Sixty hours. Five days per week (Monday to Friday). 9:30 AM – 1 PM. Coffee break 11-11:30 AM.
    Conducted entirely in Yiddish.
    Requirement: completion of one semester of Yiddish at university level, or equivalent native knowledge of the language.
     

    Jordan went on after that to do his masters in Yiddish and German literature at Oxford, focusing on Heinrich Heine.
     

    Posted by john fowles

  8. Mark IV says:

    John,

    Oi!! Now I feel like a shnook!

    In New Orleans, men from Jordan’s quorum were teasing him about his yiddish summer camp, and he was so good-natured about it I thought it was real. 

    Posted by Mark IV

  9. Heidi Ball says:

    Me thinks it’s time to burn a bunch of photos from my childhood… I’m truly scared now. I honestly think I have a picture of myself in a very similar plaid jumpsuit. :shudder:

    So, who want’s me to pull out the old jr. high photos of Jordan? I’m sure I have my yearbook around here somewhere… LOL

     

    Posted by Heidi Ball

  10. Anonymous says:

    Excellent.

    I notice we passed lightly over the teenage years . . . 

    Posted by Adam Greenwood

  11. Anonymous says:

    very funny!  

    Posted by Jenna

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

