French Parliamentarians

February 24, 2006

Berlinconf_4 Two years ago right now I was in Berlin at a law student conference on religious freedom in the European Union. For an entire week full of meetings and break-out sessions, I worked closely with the staffer of a French Parliamentarian in hearings and negotiations in our "working group" to draft a proposal for the separation of Church and State under the new EU Constitution and with a view toward further expansion of the EU eastward. At the end of the week, and after we presented our draft proposal to the body of the conference in the historic Berlin Senate building (perhaps my most exciting public speaking experience to date), I bid farewell to my new friend and someone snapped this photo. (I’m the taller one–the tweed should give me away.)

Read the rest of this entry »


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.