Cookies and Other Sweet Things in Life

Last week I went back to work full-time after a month of "paternity leave".  My month off left me contemplating the sweeter things in life- like making cookies with my children.

Ever since I have been married and had children, I have been working and going to school- usually both at once.  Now I work full-time at a busy, national law firm with offices all over the country.  I did not realize how much I am missing until I, for the first time ever in my life, took nearly a full month off  from work to play Mr. Mom.  Sure- it was stressful, even for that one month, to be the main caretaker for the older three children so that my wife could rest and give nearly her full attention to the baby.  But my time with the precious little ones was delightfully sweet, and it has made returning to work unbearably difficult.

During my time off, I had the privilege of making valentine cookies with my daughters, and frosting them with all my children.  I had so much fun watching my youngest daughter "make" the cookies (and she just basked in the attention from her father- it feels so good to be adored… ;) )

Img_0100

Img_0105_2

After making the cookies, I got to watch the girls enjoy the frosting.

Now that I know what I am missing out on at work, it makes the day that much longer until I can come home each evening- hopefully before the kids go to bed.  I hope that I can remember the cookies and other sweet things even as the hours at work start ramping up again (I was immediately staffed onto three largish cases upon returning to work). 

I miss my family during the day!

7 Responses to Cookies and Other Sweet Things in Life

  1. john f. says:

    Fun times. Making gingerbread cookies around the holidays is a favorite for our kids as well, especially if there are cousins and grandparents around for the event!

  2. Keryn says:

    That is an awfully sweet story. It made me remember the sacrifice my husband makes when he spends his days at work instead of with his precious babies. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Chad Too says:

    Sitting here at my desk… I often find myself looking back longingly at the years I was a stay-at-home dad for my pre-school age son. I miss those days a lot.

  4. Jordan says:

    As I sit here at work just after midnight, this post becomes all the more poignant…

  5. I work full-time at a busy, national law firm with offices all over the country. I did not realize how much I am missing until I, for the first time ever in my life, took nearly a full month off from work to play Mr. Mom.

    I’m impressed that you were able to take a month off. I take off a week here or there, wish I could take a full thirty days. ;)

    Congrats, wonderful pictures.

  6. chronicler says:

    I’ve always felt that men got the wrong end of the deal. You are required to provide and support, and be absent for the precious times in the lives of your children. I have very little sympathy for women around me who complain of having to spend their days with small people who love them, and feeling unfulfilled.

    Just remember the cookies, and always look for time for the small ones. The world can survive without another hour’s devotion to the machine, while allowing a child to take center stage for a few moments.

  7. What gorgeous babies you have! I just love the pictures. I’m in a baby mood this morning. Not five minutes ago my wife, Esperanza, telephoned me from Boise, Idaho to inform me that our first grandson has entered the world. He is named after me, and I’m so pleased. The mother and child are doing fine. What a happy day!

    I was a stay-at-home parent during all but the first two years our three children were in the home. My wife had such a good job, and I had such a poor one that it just didn’t make sense to do it any other way. I sure did love those years with the children. I miss them a lot. Now they are all grown and have left this empty nest. But it is wonderful to see the grandchildren come. Treasure these years while your children are little. Little girls especially just don’t ever get any cuter than they are at that age.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

